top of page


Our Lake St. John community is located on the traditional territories of the Mississauga, Huron-Wendat, and Anishinaabe Nations. The Anishinaabe include the Ojibwe, Odawa, and Pottawatomi Nations, collectively known as the Three Fires Confederacy. We would like to acknowledge the enduring presence of the Indigenous Peoples of this region, specifically, the Chippewa Tri–Council First Nations comprised of the Beausoleil, the Chippewas of Rama, and the Chippewas of Georgina Island First Nations. The Chippewas of Rama First Nation are our closest neighbours and are a part of our community, with part of their First Nation located here on the eastern shore of Lake St. John. We acknowledge that this land is covered by the Williams Treaties First Nations.


We encourage all to engage with and learn about the history of this land and its Peoples.



Mississauaga: miss-i-saw-guh

Wendat: wen-dat

Anishinaabe: a-ni-shi-nah-bay

Ojibwe: oh-jib-way

Odawa: oh-daa-wuh

Pottawatomi: pow-tuh-waa-tuh-mee

Beausoleil: boo-so-lay

Chippewa: chip-i-waa

More information on treaties and traditional First Nation territories:

Native Land Digital Map

Map of Ontario Treaties

Williams Treaties

Rice Lake Purchase - Treaty 20

For further learning:

Chippewas of Rama First Nation

Anishinabek Nation

Huron-Wendat Nation

Mississauga Nation

Mnjikaning Fish Weirs

Mnjikaning Fish Fence Circle

Three Fires Council

Canadian Museum of History: An Aboriginal Presence

National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation

Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada: Calls to Action

Residential Schools in Canada

bottom of page